Welcome to the debut post of my personal travel blog.  I love to explore and travel, but after becoming a mother of two, my opportunities and energy to explore had dissipated.  Now that my kids are a little older, and a wee bit more patient, I’ve decided to get us out of the house more.

Our first stop is a local Houston landmark with a well publicized history of being haunted, The Spaghetti Warehouse.  The building was constructed in 1912, so it is now just over 100 years old.  The restaurant has been in business since 1974, but the reports of its haunted nature have recently surfaced within the last decade.

The whole family ventured from our Houston suburb home to the heart of the Market Square Historic district.  We had a wonderful time driving into the city.  The kids and I pointed out all of the old and grand buildings.  My daughter explained with wonder, “This is all beautiful!”  As we approached, the large white warehouse with green trim stood out as a solitary building on the corner. If you visit, watch out while entering the parking lot!  There are so many potholes I’m surprised we didn’t pop a tire trying to maneuver into a space.

sw5a

The interior of the building was really lovely.  It is filled with a mix of grand antiques, fun vintage art, and casual dining tables.  One of the fun features is the brick work wall that previous diners and employees have colored on and signed.

Your family can have a spooky dining experience at the Haunted Spaghetti Warehouse in Houston, TX

Our waiter asked right away if this was our first time at The Spaghetti warehouse and we told him it was.  He immediately suggested we try to the Ultimate Feast for Two, a sampler dinner.  Um, YES.  Then our haunted adventure begins.  Unprompted, the very next words were, “You know this place is haunted, right? You’ve heard that about this place, right?”  So, clearly, the staff wants diners to be well aware of its reputation.  I asked where most of the experiences happened.

“Everywhere.  The whole building is haunted.  I myself have seen boxes move by themselves in the basement, and I’ve had trays fall as if they were thrown at me.”

It was hard to imagine this restaurant as haunted during the bustle of the dinner rush.  While it did feel old, cozy, and quirky, I didn’t get any impression of the extra unseen residents of the building. However, if I were an employee closing for the evening, alone, with something tugging at the back of my shirt… I might feel differently.

Dinner was tasty, and there was lots of it!  The kids ate their complete meals, which is fairly unusual for them.  They normally eat a few bites and get distracted, but this evening they enjoyed a full meal.  A bonus for families is the din in the dining area drowns out any noise my kids were making, without making it too loud to talk to the other people at the table, making it a great environment to bring young children for dinner.  Toward the end of our meal the chef came to our table to ask what we liked most about our meal that evening.  For me, the Lasagna, most definitely.  I can’t remember the last time I’d been at a restaurant and the chef came out to talk with patrons.  I was impressed.

Lasagna, Chicken Parmesan, Ravioli, Meatballs, and more at the Spaghetti Warehouse in Houston, TX

Toward the end of our meal, our waiter encouraged us to stay and tour the building.  Again, unprompted, he suggested, “Make sure you head upstairs before you leave and snoop around.” I asked, “Snoop for what specifically?”  “Most of the activity happens on the second floor, ” he said, “so make sure you take a few minutes and check it out.  The legend goes, the previous owner died when he fell down the elevator shaft that used to be location right over there.” He pointed to the general area only about 10-15 feet from our table.

Of course we took the kids upstairs to check out the currently unoccupied second floor.  There are more dining tables and a gorgeous train car that also holds dining tables.  The kids absolutely loved climbing in the train!  The lights were dimmed and the room was quiet, but I still felt no sense that there was anything spooky there.  Maybe my loud, enthusiastic kids scared off the spirits?  I would understand why.

There was even more fabulous art on the second floor and I would have loved extra time to peruse the whole restaurant and take the time to check out all the wonderful pieces.  Maybe I’ll have to make a solo trip back for lunch one day.

Your family can have a spooky dining experience at the Haunted Spaghetti Warehouse in Houston, TX

 

Want to Visit?

Address:  901 Commerce St., Houston, TX

Website: http://www.meatballs.com

Price Range: $$ ($11-30)

